The Glamorous Boys of Tang_Film Still 3.jpg
  • jpg

Still: The Glamorous Boy of Tang

48th International Film Festival Rotterdam

23 January - 3 February

Rotterdam, 18 December 2018

IFFR announces Ammodo Tiger Short Competition 2019

24 short films selected by makers from 19 countries

International Film Festival Rotterdam (IFFR) announces the 24 short films selected for the Ammodo Tiger Short Competition. 18 of these are world premieres. A professional jury will decide the winners of the three equal awards each worth €5,000.

Selections include exciting newcomers like German filmmaker Lucia Margarita and Moroccan artist Meriem Bennani, as well as filmmakers who have been in competition in Rotterdam before, such as Belgium-based artist Vincent Meessen or Taiwanese artist Su Hui-yuSara Cwynar (Rose Gold) and Daniel Jacoby (Mountain Plain Mountain), both winners of an Ammodo Tiger Short Award in 2018, return to Rotterdam in 2019 to present their films Red Film and Nehemías. Familiar names such as Simon LiuMike HoolboomLuke Fowler and Kevin Jerome Everson have shown several films at IFFR in the past, and this year make their competition debuts.

Two of the selected filmmakers will also hold Artist Talks at IFFR: Diana Vidrascu, selected with her film Le silence des sirènes, and Andrew Norman Wilson, selected with Kodak. American artist Cauleen Smith, selected with her short film Sojourner, also features in other parts of the IFFR 2019 programme: she presents her performance Black Utopia LP as part of the exhibition Blackout, is showing a number of her short films in a Deep Focus Short Profile and presents a restoration of her 1998 film Drylongso.

The jury is made up of Vietnamese artist Nguyen Trinh Thi, who previously participated in the Tiger Awards Competition for Short Films with her film Letters from Panduranga; John Canciani, festival director of Internationale Kurzfilmtage Winterthur; and Lawrence Abu Hamdan, who will also be presenting his film Walled Unwalled at IFFR 2019 as part of Bright Future Short, as well as his performance After SFX, which is presented in collaboration with Witte de With Center for Contemporary Art (who are hosting his solo exhibition).

Ammodo, an organisation supporting art and science, became partner of the competition in 2018. The Ammodo Tiger Short Awards will be presented on Sunday 27 January 2019.

Collage Ammodo Tiger Short Competition 2019.jpg
  • jpg

More short films at IFFR

Alongside the films in the Ammodo Tiger Short Competition, IFFR also presents a large number of short films throughout its programme. Bright Future Short screens more experimental, artistic short films such as the world premiere of Johann Lurf’s 3D film Cavalcade, while Voices Short is the home for more narrative-driven short films, such as the world premiere of Tomek Popakul’s Acid Rain.

IFFR’s Deep Focus section also screens short films. In addition to the above-mentioned Cauleen Smith profile, IFFR is presenting an overview of Charlotte Pryce’s imaginative 16mm short films, plus two of her magic lantern performances.

IFFR’s short films screen ahead of feature films, in short film compilations and in the annual short-film marathon in KINO. For a list of short films at IFFR 2019, click here.

All films selected for the Ammodo Tiger Short Competition 2019: 

  • 27 thoughts about my father, Mike Hoolboom, 2019, Canada, world premiere
  • ALTIPLANO, Malena Szlam, 2018, Chile/Argentina/Canada, international premiere
  • AnteuJoão Vladimiro, 2018, Portugal/France
  • La bala de Sandoval/Sandoval's Bullet, Jean-Jacques Martinod, 2019, Ecuador, world premiere
  • Black Bus Stop, Kevin Jerome Everson/Claudrena N. Harold, 2018, USA, international premiere
  • E-Ticket, Simon Liu, 2019, Hong Kong/USA/UK, world premiere
  • Freedom of Movement, Nina Fischer/Maroan el Sani, 2018, Germany/Italy, international premiere
  • The Glamorous Boy of Tang, Su Hui-yu, 2018, Taiwan, world premiere (festival)
  • Kodak, Andrew Norman Wilson, 2018, USA, international premiere
  • Lost Tune, Reetu Sattar, 2018, Bangladesh, world premiere (festival)
  • Maman Maman Maman, Lucia Margarita Bauer, 2019, Germany, world premiere
  • The Mental Traveller, Taiki Sakpisit, 2019, Thailand, world premiere
  • Mum's Cards, Luke Fowler, 2018, UK, European premiere
  • Nehemías, Daniel Jacoby, 2019, Netherlands/Peru, world premiere
  • Paranon, Zeno van den Broek, 2019, Netherlands, world premiere
  • Party on the CAPS, Meriem Bennani, 2018, Morocco/Switzerland, world premiere (festival)
  • Primeiro ato/First ActMatheus Parizi, 2019, Brazil, world premiere
  • Red Film, Sara Cwynar, 2018, USA, world premiere (festival)
  • The Sasha, Maria Molina, 2019, Netherlands, world premiere
  • Le silence des sirènes/Silence of the Sirens, Diana Vidrascu, 2019, France, world premiere
  • Sojourner, Cauleen Smith, 2018, USA, world premiere (festival)
  • These Silences Are All the Words, Madiha Aijaz, 2018, Pakistan, world premiere (festival)
  • Ultramarine, Vincent Meessen, 2019, Belgium/France, world premiere
  • Wong Ping's Fables 1, Wong Ping, 2018, Hong Kong, world premiere (festival)

Contact details

Receive exclusive news

Are you a journalist or do you work for a publication?
Sign up and request access to exclusive news.

Request access

Receive International Film Festival Rotterdam news on your RSS reader.

Or subscribe through Atom URL manually